Get Adobe Flash player

Should the tournament you are looking for not be in the tournament block, please go to the calendar and select the date of the event. You will then be able to see the entry forms etc.


February 2017 Next month
week 5 1 2 3 4 5
week 6 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
week 7 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
week 8 20 21 22 23 24 25 26
week 9 27 28


CGGU announce Senior IPT side

The CGGU selection committee is pleased to announce the following players to represent the union at the upcoming Senior Interprovincial Tournament from Sunday 23th April 2017 until Friday 28th April 2017 to be played at The Simola Hotel and Country Club in the Southern Cape Province.

(In no particular order):

-Schalk Naude, Randpark Golf Club (Captain)

- Jock Wellington, Kyalami Country Club (Vice Captain)

- Rurik Gobel, Randpark Golf Club

- Derek Reyneke, Randpark Golf Club

- Richard Bruyns, The River Club

- Greg Gleeson, Kyalami Country Club

- Steve Williams, Modderfontein Golf Club

- Stephen Johnston, Ruimsig Country Club

Reserve: Stephen Rossiter, Krugersdorp Golf Club

The teams will be managed Jaco du Plessis and Assistant Manager will be Andy Truluck.

Greg Gleeson wins CGGU Senior Open and Closed

Bill and Greg cropped

Kyalami golfer Greg Gleeson beat local favorite, Stephen Johnston, on the first playoff hole after both players completed the two rounds on two under par.

Greg has now won back to back events through playoffs and also claimed the CGGU Closed trophy as the leading CGGU player.

CGGU would like thank Ruimsig CC for hosting the event. The course was in incredible condition.

Pictured here is Greg Gleeson with CGGU CEO, Bill Swailes

For final results click HERE

CGGU wins 2016 Junior IPT

2016SAU19IPT CentralGauteng papers

Central Gauteng Golf Union won the 2016 Junior IPT which was hosted at the White River Country Club in Mpumalanga.

The team dominated, winning the event with a day to spare! The team consisted of Keelan van Wyk (captain) and Shaun Jones from Ruimsig, Bryce Leach and Emilio Pera from Eagle Canyon, Eric Wowor from Kyalami, Cole Stevens from Parkview, Reece Haikney from Randpark and Kian Rose from Royal JK. The team was managed by Andy Truluck and assistant manager Jaco du Plessis.

Cole Stevens who was playing in his first IPT was also MVP (most valuable player) for the event.

"€œThis is an incredible achievement for the whole squad. They worked exceptionally hard for this and dug deep from the start to win this for Central Gauteng. We won four and drew one to seal the victory before the final round and that speaks volumes about the characters of the eight players on the team."Andy Truluck

"I would like to thank Keelan (van Wyk) on behalf of the whole team. He was a true inspiration as the captain and a superstar both on and off the course. Keelan led from the front and I am extremely proud of the way he guided the team. Keelan was in the winning team in 2013 and has played every year since. We are so pleased that he could finish his junior career as the winning captain."Andy Truluck

Kevin Sharp wins CGGU Mid-Amateur Open

Kevin and Bill cropped

Central Gauteng and Modderfontein golfer, Kevin Sharp won the 2017 CGGU Mid-Amateur Open Trophy.

The event was hosted at Kyalami Country Club, which was in incredible condition. Kevin finished on 5 under par, just one shot ahead of Western Province golfer and 2015 winner, Gerlou Roux.

Central Gauteng Golf Union would like to thank all the players for supporting this event. Also a huge thanks to Kyalami CC for hosting the tournament.

For Final Results click HERE

Garrick wins CGGU Open

Bill Swailes CEO CGGU and Garrick Higgo 2016 Champion.2

Boland golfer, Garrick Higgo, won the 2016 CGGU Open Stroke play at Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club on the East Course.

Garrick went birdie, eagle over the last two holes to beat Combrink Smit by a single shot. The De Zalze golfer who came close earlier in the week when he narrowly lost to Shaun Stapleton at The Bobby Locke, went one better this time.

CGGU would like to thank Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club for hosting this event.

Pictured here with Garrick is CGGU CEO, Bill Swailes

Click HERE for final results

Northern Amateur Championship